Time and ‘Taid’ in North Wales

I never ever met my Welsh Grandad. My Welsh Dad met my Son. In 2024 I will become a Grandad, to my Sons’ son. With Gratitude. :),

I never knew either of my Grandads. Both sadly had died before I was born, which is a huge sadness for me, because I would have loved to listen to them and to pass on their history, to my son, Oscar, and to his son, about their lives, and how they fared in Ireland and Wales, during the first and second world war years.

I am very grateful to both of them though, for having lived through their respective time, they created my mum and dad, who through, perhaps also difficult times, and divine grace, gave birth to me, during wartime too. I am a wartime baby, being born in 1944, six months before peace was declared on 8th May 1945.

Luckily I have a picture of my dad’s dad, born in Wales, though not one of my mums’ dad, born in Ireland, which I can show to Oscar. So when Oscars son is born in March 2024, there will be pictures of three generations, of ‘Taids’ born in Wales – my dad and me-, and a Grandad born in Ireland – mums dad.

My mum and dad sadly passed in 1999 and 2000 respectively, though not before meeting my son, and their beautiful grandson Oscar. Now the Hughes family history continues, as Oscar prepares for the birth of his son.

John Hughes – my Welsh Taid (Grandad)

Oscar with his mum, and his Taid (Grandad), in a picture taken at my parents home in 1991

Oscar aged five, with his dad, (me) and his gorgeous mum.

In March 2024, Oscar and his lovely wife Katrina, are expecting their first child, and I will become a first time Taid (Grandad) to their son.

And so the Hughes Family line continues, and in March 2024, I will add pictures of the new member of the Hughes clan.

Author: icandowords

Speaker, Writer, Blogger, Distinguished Toastmaster, Traveller

Leave a comment